Seyval blanc first attempt at doppelbogen

In these images I am getting some pruning practice with what is achievable in one go, without splitting the cane.  All are too high, at the moment, but I will be flexing and bending them down some more within the next month or so.  I have a feeling that I may need to drive single posts against each vine rather than the chestnut pale Vs, but, they are handy to be able to tie in some of the wayward mature canes now.  I will see how the the trunks thicken up this year, some could be a bit straighter I know, and how well the system handles tieing-in the shoots as they develop.

photo-7 photo-8

photo-9
Here is another seyval blanc that I have potted, to practice on at home.

About citbp

I am interested in everything about wine, from site selection to tasting.
This entry was posted in Vine to wine diary. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

